tour eiffel

Découvrez l'emblématique Tour Eiffel : le symbole de Paris

L'emblématique Tour Eiffel n'a plus besoin d'être présentée ; elle est le symbole ultime de Paris. Cette tour en treillis de fer forgé, haute de 330 mètres, a été conçue à l'origine pour l'Exposition universelle de 1889. Objet de nombreuses controverses au départ, la tour est aujourd'hui l'un des symboles les plus célèbres de Paris. Découvrez tout ce que vous devez savoir sur cet emblème parisien.

Tour Eiffel : un guide rapide

tour eiffel

Quelle est la Tour Eiffel ?

tour eiffel

Qu'est-ce qui fait de la Tour Eiffel une visite incontournable à Paris ?

Bien qu'elle puisse sembler surfaite, la visite de la Tour Eiffel pendant votre séjour à Paris reste une évidence. En plus d'être une icône culturelle et historique, la tour Eiffel a acquis le statut de symbole international de l'amour. Explorez le brillant chef-d'œuvre de Gustave Eiffel et découvrez la culture française et l'importance de l'architecture dans l'histoire de France. Que vous soyez passionné d'architecture, d'histoire ou que vous aimiez prendre des selfies dans des lieux emblématiques, la Tour Eiffel sera une attraction que vous prendrez plaisir à explorer.

Profitez d'une vue pittoresque de la ville des lumières depuis le premier étage et traversez le plancher de verre à 57 m au-dessus du sol ! Bien sûr, le voyage est incomplet tant que vous n'avez pas atteint le sommet. Depuis le deuxième étage, profitez d'une vue aérienne quasi parfaite des monuments parisiens emblématiques tels que Notre-Dame et les Champs-Élysées. Enfin, lorsque vous arrivez au sommet, vous pouvez admirer la beauté de Paris dans toute sa splendeur depuis un point de vue unique.

Planifiez la visite de la Tour Eiffel

Où se situe la Tour Eiffel ?
Quels sont les horaires d'ouverture de la Tour Eiffel ?
tour eiffel
tour eiffel
Comment acheter des billets et des visites guidées de la Tour Eiffel ?

2e étage de la Tour Eiffel : Visite guidée avec croisière sur la Seine en option

Confirmation immédiate
Billets mobiles
1 h - 2 h 30 min
Audioguide
Visite guidée
En savoir plus +

Sommet Tour Eiffel : Visite guidée et croisière en option

Confirmation immédiate
Billets mobiles
1 h 30 min - 3 h
Visite guidée
En savoir plus +

Tour Eiffel : Billet d'ascension

Annulation gratuite
Confirmation immédiate
Billets mobiles
1 h 30 min - 2 h
Visite guidée
En savoir plus +

Qui a construit la tour Eiffel ?

La tour Eiffel a été construite par l'ingénieur français Gustave Eiffel, dont l'entreprise était spécialisée dans la construction de charpentes et de structures métalliques.

Emile Nouguier et Maurice Koechlin, les deux ingénieurs en chef de l'entreprise d'Eiffel, et Stephen Sauvestre, un architecte, ont également joué un rôle essentiel dans la construction de la tour.

Que voir à la tour Eiffel ?

La Tour Eiffel est composée de trois étages, le 1er étage, le 2ème étage et le sommet (niveau supérieur). Vous pouvez emprunter les escaliers ou l'ascenseur pour atteindre le sommet.

tour eiffel
tour eiffel
tour eiffel
tour eiffel
tour eiffel

Histoire de la tour Eiffel en bref

Le projet de construction de la Tour Eiffel a été conçu dans le cadre des préparatifs de l'Exposition universelle de 1889. Le concours porte sur la construction d'une tour carrée en fer de 300 mètres de haut et de 125 mètres de côté. Le plan proposé par Gustave Eiffel, Maurice Kœchlin et Emile Nouguier est retenu parmi les 107 projets présentés.

En juin 1884, les plans du projet et les plans d'exécution sont finalisés. Il a fallu cinq mois pour construire les fondations de la tour et 21 autres mois pour finir d'assembler toutes les pièces métalliques de la tour. Les travaux de construction ont commencé en janvier 1887 et se sont terminés le 31 mars 1889.

La tour s'est retrouvée au centre de vifs débats avant même que la construction ne soit terminée. Cependant, cela a changé une fois la tour terminée. Aujourd'hui, la tour Eiffel est considérée comme un symbole de Paris.

Architecture et design de la tour Eiffel

tour eiffel

La tour Eiffel illuminée

tour eiffel

La tour Eiffel dans la culture populaire

Malgré les vives critiques à l'encontre de la tour, au fil des ans, la structure a pris une place à part entière dans l'esprit des gens. Des artistes du monde entier lui ont rendu hommage de diverses manières.

La peinture et la tour Eiffel

De Georges Seurat, qui l'a peinte en 1888, avant même qu'elle ne soit achevée, à Marc Chagal en 1955, la tour Eiffel a été le sujet des œuvres de nombreux artistes. Parmi les œuvres notables, citons :

  • La Tour Eiffel, Georges Seurat, 1888
  • Moi-même, Le Douanier Rousseau, 1890
  • La Ville de Paris, Robert Delaunay, 1910/1912
  • Le Champ de Mars, Marc Chagall, 1954/1955
La Tour Eiffel sur grand écran

La Tour Eiffel a été filmée pour la première fois par Louis Lumière en 1897, et est depuis apparue sur grand écran à plusieurs reprises.

  • Superman II (1980)
  • Da Vinci code (2006)
  • Le Diable s'habille en Prada (2006)
  • Rush Hours III (2007)
  • Ratatouille (2007)
  • Minuit à Paris (2011)

Scientific Uses of the Eiffel Tower

tour eiffel

Gustave Eiffel gave the Tower some scientific uses in order to prolong its lifespan. These uses include being a site for meteorological and astronomical observations, physics experiments, an optical telegraph communications point, a beacon for electric lighting, a strategic vantage point, and wind studies.

Since 1889, the tower has been used as a laboratory of measurements and scientific experiments. A meteorology laboratory was installed on the third floor on the day after the Tower’s inauguration. Between 1903 and 1905, gravity instruments were installed as he had a passion for aerodynamics. Gustave Eiffel even encouraged numerous scientific experiments on the Tower such as Foucault’s Pendulum.

The tower was also installed with an antenna for wireless broadcasting in 1903 and has been used for making radio transmissions since. A television antenna was first installed on the tower in 1957.

Foire aux questions : informations sur la Tour Eiffel

Qu'est-ce que la tour Eiffel ?

La tour Eiffel est une tour en treillis en fer forgé de 300 m de haut située sur le Champ de Mars à Paris, en France. Nommée d'après l'ingénieur Gustave Eiffel, dont la société a conçu et construit la structure, la tour est devenue une icône culturelle mondiale de la France.

Pourquoi la Tour Eiffel est-elle célèbre ?

L'une des structures les plus reconnaissables au monde, la tour Eiffel est une merveille architecturale qui attire plus de personnes que toute autre attraction touristique payante dans le monde. En outre, la tour joue également un rôle important dans les émissions de télévision et de radio, ce qui la rend encore plus intégrée à la ville.

Combien coûtent les billets pour la Tour Eiffel ?

Le prix des billets pour la Tour Eiffel commence à 45 €.

Qui a conçu la Tour Eiffel ?

La tour a été conçue par Gustave Eiffel, un entrepreneur, avec les ingénieurs Maurice Koechlin et Emile Nouguier, et l'architecte Stephen Sauvestre.

Quand la Tour Eiffel a-t-elle été construite ?

La Tour Eiffel a été construite entre le 26 janvier 1887 et le 31 mars 1889 pour l'Exposition universelle de 1889. La tour Eiffel a été construite à l'origine pour commémorer le 100ème anniversaire de la Révolution française.

Où se trouve la Tour Eiffel ?

La Tour Eiffel est située aux Champs de Mars au 5, Avenue Anatole France dans le 7ème arrondissement de Paris.

Comment puis-je me rendre à la Tour Eiffel ?

La Tour Eiffel est accessible par les transports en commun. Vous pouvez aller à la Tour Eiffel en métro, RER, bus, Vélib, bateau ou même en voiture.

Quels sont les horaires de la Tour Eiffel ?

Les horaires d'ouverture de la Tour Eiffel sont de 9 h 30 à 23 h 45 tous les jours. Jusqu'au 17 juin, les horaires d'ouverture de la Tour Eiffel sont de 9 h 30 à 10 h 45, sauf du 26 mai au 30 juin 2022 et du 3 juin au 5 juin 2022, où la Tour Eiffel restera ouverte jusqu'à 23 h 45.

Que puis-je faire à la Tour Eiffel ?

La Tour Eiffel est composée de trois niveaux. Au premier étage, vous pouvez découvrir les expositions du musée, marcher sur le plancher de verre, manger un morceau et acheter des souvenirs. Cependant, il est préférable de garder son appétit pour le deuxième étage, qui abrite le restaurant Jules Verne. Ne manquez pas de profiter des vues spectaculaires sur la ville depuis la zone d'observation. Enfin, au sommet, vous pourrez admirer les vues panoramiques des célèbres monuments de Paris, boire un verre de champagne au bar à champagne, visiter le bureau de Gustave Eiffel et prendre des photos au sommet de la tour Eiffel.

Y a-t-il des restaurants à l'intérieur de la Tour Eiffel ?

Oui, la Tour Eiffel abrite plusieurs restaurants, dont le célèbre restaurant Jules Verne, la Brasserie Madame et le Bar à Champagne au sommet. Elle abrite également plusieurs buffets et un bar à macarons.

Eiffel Tower

Discover the Iconic Eiffel Tower | The Symbol of the City of Paris

The iconic Eiffel Tower needs no introduction; it is the ultimate symbol of Paris. The wrought-iron lattice tower that stands 1,083 ft (330 m) tall was originally designed for the Exposition Universelle in 1889. The subject of much controversy initially, today, the tower stands as one of the most famous symbols of Paris. Find out all you need to know about this Parisian landmark.

Quick Guide to Eiffel Tower, Paris

About Eiffel Tower

What is the Eiffel Tower?

About Eiffel Tower

What Makes Eiffel Tower A Must-Visit in Paris?

While it can seem to be too "touristy", visiting Eiffel Tower while you are in Paris seems like a no-brainer. Apart from being a cultural and historical icon, the tower has even gained the status of being the international symbol of love. Explore the brilliant masterpiece by Gustave Eiffel and get an insight into French culture and learn about the significance the structure has had on French history. Whether you are an architecture buff, history geek, or someone who enjoys taking selfies in iconic locations, the Eiffel Tower is going to be an attraction you enjoy exploring.

Enjoy a picturesque view of the City of Lights from the first floor and walk across the glass floor 57 meters above the ground! Of course, the trip is incomplete until you make your way all the way to the top. From the second floor, enjoy a near-perfect aerial view of iconic Parisian landmarks such as the Notre Dame, and Champs Elysees. And finally, when you make it to the Summit, you get to bask in the beauty of Paris in all its glory from a unique vantage point.

Plan Your Visit to Eiffel Tower

Where is Eiffel Tower Located?
What's Eiffel Tower Opening Hours?
About Eiffel Tower
Eiffel Tower Timings
How To Buy Eiffel Tower Tickets & Tours? .

Eiffel Tower 2nd Floor: Guided Tour & Optional River Cruise

Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
1 hr. - 2 hr. 30 min.
Audio Guide
Guided Tour
More details +

Eiffel Tower Summit Tickets with Guided Tour & Optional Seine River Cruise

Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
1 hr. 30 min. - 3 hr.
Guided Tour
More details +

Eiffel Tower Climbing Experience

Free Cancellation
Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
1 hr. 30 min. - 2 hr.
Guided Tour
More details +

Who Built Eiffel Tower?

The Eiffel Tower was built by French engineer Gustave Eiffel., whose company specialized in building metal frameworks and structures.

Emile Nouguier and Maurice Koechlin, the two chief engineers in Eiffel's company, and Stephen Sauvestre, an architect, also played a pivotal role in the construction of the tower.

What to See at Eiffel Tower?

The Eiffel Tower is composed of three levels, the 1st floor, 2nd floor, and the summit (top level). You can either take the stairs or the elevator to reach the top.

About Eiffel Tower
About Eiffel Tower
About Eiffel Tower
About Eiffel Tower
About Eiffel Tower

Brief History of the Eiffel Tower

The plan to build Eiffel Tower was conceived as part of preparations for the World's Fair of 1889. The competition called for the construction of a square iron tower that would be be 300 meters tall with 125-meter sides. The plan proposed by Gustave Eiffel, Maurice Kœchlin and Emile Nouguier was chosen from the 107 submissions.

By June 1884, the blueprints for the project and blueprints were finalized. It took five months to build the foundation of the tower and another 21 months to finish assembling all the metal pieces of the tower. The construction work began in January 1887 and was finished on March 31, 1889.

The tower found itself to be at the center of fierce debate even before the construction was complete. However, this changed once the tower was finished. Today, the Eiffel Tower has come to be seen as a symbol of Paris.

Architecture & Design of the Eiffel Tower

About Eiffel Tower

The Eiffel Tower Illuminations

About Eiffel Tower

Eiffel Tower in Popular Culture

Despite the strong criticism against the tower, over the years, the structure has taken on an integral space in the minds of people. Artistes from across the world have paid homage to it in varied ways.

Painting and the Eiffel Tower

Right from Georges Seurat, who painted it in 1888, before it was even finished to Marc Chagal in 1955, the Eiffel Tower has been the subject for the works of many artists. Some notable works include:

  • La Tour Eiffel, Georges Seurat, 1888
  • Moi-même, Le Douanier Rousseau, 1890
  • La Ville de Paris, Robert Delaunay, 1910/1912
  • Le Champ de Mars, Marc Chagall, 1954/1955
The Eiffel Tower on Big Screen

The Eiffel Tower was filmed for the first time by Louis Lumière in 1897, and has since appeared on the big screen several times.

  • Superman II (1980)
  • Da Vinci code (2006)
  • The Devil Wears Prada (2006)
  • Rush Hours III (2007)
  • Ratatouille (2007)
  • Midnight in Paris (2011)

Scientific Uses of the Eiffel Tower

About Eiffel Tower

Gustave Eiffel gave the Tower some scientific uses in order to prolong its lifespan. These uses include being a site for meteorological and astronomical observations, physics experiments, an optical telegraph communications point, a beacon for electric lighting, a strategic vantage point, and wind studies.

Since 1889, the tower has been used as a laboratory of measurements and scientific experiments. A meteorology laboratory was installed on the third floor on the day after the Tower’s inauguration. Between 1903 and 1905, gravity instruments were installed as he had a passion for aerodynamics. Gustave Eiffel even encouraged numerous scientific experiments on the Tower such as Foucault’s Pendulum.

The tower was also installed with an antenna for wireless broadcasting in 1903 and has been used for making radio transmissions since. A television antenna was first installed on the tower in 1957.

Frequently Asked Questions About Eiffel Tower in France

Q. What is Eiffel Tower?

A. The Eiffel Tower is a 300 meter wrought-iron lattice tower on the Champ de Mars in Paris, France. Named after the engineer Gustave Eiffel, whose company designed and built the structure, the tower has come to be a global cultural icon of France.

Q. Why is the Eiffel Tower famous?

A. One of the most recognizable structures in the world, the Eiffel Tower is an architectural wonder that attracts more visitors than any other paid tourist attraction in the world. Apart from this, the tower also serves an important role in television and radio broadcasts, making it even more integral to the city.

Q. How much does Eiffel Tower tickets cost?

A. The Eiffel Tower ticket prices start at €45.

Q. Who designed Eiffel Tower?

A. The tower was designed by Gustave Eiffel, an entrepreneur, along with engineers Maurice Koechlin and Emile Nouguier, and architect Stephen Sauvestre.

Q. When was Eiffel Tower built?

A. The Eiffel Tower was constructed between 26 January 1887 and 31st March 1889 for the 1889 World's Fair. The Eiffel Tower was originally built to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the French Revolution.

Q. Where is Eiffel Tower located?

A. The Eiffel Tower is located at Champs de Mars at 5 Avenue Anatole France within the 7th arrondissement of Paris.

Q. How can I get to Eiffel Tower?

A. The Eiffel Tower is accessible by public transport. You can reach the Eiffel Tower via metro, RER, bus, Vélib bike, boat or even by car.

Q. What are Eiffel Tower timings?

A. The Eiffel Tower timings are 9:30 AM to 11:45 PM on all days. Until 17 June, the tower's opening times are 9:30 AM- 10:45 AM, excpet for 26 May to 30, 2022 and 3 June to 5, 2022, when the Eiffel Tower will remain open until 11:45 PM.

Q. What can I do at Eiffel Tower?

A. The Eiffel Tower is composed of three levels. On the first floor, you can explore the museum exhibits, walk over the glass floor, grab a bite to eat, and shop for souvenirs. However, it might be better to save your appetite for the second floor, which houses the Jules Verne restaurant. Make sure you take in the spectacular views of the city from the observation area. And finally, at the top you can take in panoramic views of Paris’ famous landmarks, have a glass of bubbly at the champagne bar, visit Gustav Eiffel’s office and take photos at the top of the Eiffel Tower.

Q. Are there restaurants inside the Eiffel Tower?

A. Yes, the Eiffel Tower is home to several restaurants, including the famous Jules Verne restaurant, Madame Brasserie and the Champagne Bar at the summit. It is also home to several buffets and a Macaron Bar.